Texas data centers Every registered facility.
Red Oak Texas Data Center 2
The second Compass certification at Red Oak, two years after the first, naming Microsoft again and six more single building entities.
5Sourced facts3Source records3Open gaps
What the record establishes
- Occupant of record
- Microsoft Corporation[1]registry read August 21st, 2026
- Operator of record
- Compass Datacenters, LLC[1]registry read August 21st, 2026
- Owners of record
- 6 entities in the Compass Datacenters DFW III family are owners of record, the base entity and F through J[1]as of March 14th, 2024
- Location
- Red Oak, Ellis County, south of Dallas[2]
- Announced expansion at the campus
- $300 million[3]as of September 27th, 2024
What changes the reading
- The lettering runs on from the first certification rather than restarting, so the two rows read as one campus filed in two tranches. The state does not say that and the naming is the only evidence for it.[1]
Still not public
- Capacity and square footage are not public for this certification.
- Which buildings it covers is not stated.
- Whether it is the same campus as the first Red Oak certification is inferred from the entity names and is not stated anywhere.
Source trail
- Certified Data CentersTexas Comptroller of Public Accounts
- Compass Datacenters Adds Second Dallas Area CampusCompass Datacenters
- Dallas firm plans $300 million expansion to Red Oak data center campusThe Dallas Morning News
What was filed to build it
Texas registers every large construction project with a second agency. These filings were made by a company this record already names.
$968,925,000 across 16 filings, 4,920,822 sq ft.
2016$15,000,000DALLAS 2Allen
2017$15,000,000DFW II AAllen
2019$45,000,00040,150 sq ftDFW III-I-1 Thunderball 6000Red Oak
2019$5,000,000980,849 sq ftCompass Datacenters DFW III-I, LLCRed Oak
2020$1,000,0001,503,933 sq ftCompass Datacenters DFW I-II, LLCAllen
2021$100,000,000250,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 1 (Roadrunner)Red Oak
2021$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 2 (Roadrunner)Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 3Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 4Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 5Red Oak
2024$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-III Building 6Red Oak
2024$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-III Building 7Red Oak
2024$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 3 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak
2024$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 4 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak
2025$16,925,00050,000 sq ftCompass Operations FacilityRed Oak
2025$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 2 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak
An estimated cost at filing is not a final cost, and a filing is not proof a building went up. How this register works.
The registry entry for this facility comes from the Texas Comptroller's certified list of data centers holding a sales tax exemption. Owner, occupant and operator are roles in that filing rather than descriptions of who runs the building.