Texas AI Docket

Texas data centers Every registered facility.

Certified facility dossier

Red Oak Texas Data Center

Compass Datacenters bought the land in Red Oak and announced a campus for hyperscale customers without naming one. Coverage of the later expansion described the buildings as fully taken by a single tenant and did not name that tenant either. The certified occupant is Microsoft.

8Sourced facts3Source records4Open gaps

What the record establishes

Land Compass announced buying in Red Oak
225 acres[2]as of January 29th, 2020
Campus IT load Compass announced
350 MW[2]as of January 29th, 2020
First building announced for the campus
6 MW[2]as of January 29th, 2020
Later announced expansion
$300 million[3]as of September 27th, 2024
Occupant of record
Microsoft Corporation[1]registry read August 21st, 2026
Operator of record
Compass Datacenters, LLC[1]registry read August 21st, 2026
Owners of record
6 entities in the Compass Datacenters DFW III family are owners of record, the base entity and A through E[1]as of February 14th, 2022
Location
Red Oak, Ellis County, south of Dallas[2]

What changes the reading

  • Compass announced the campus for hyperscale, cloud and enterprise customers, which is the phrasing a developer uses when the lease forbids saying who. The tax record does not have that option.[1][2]
  • One certification, six owning entities, one per building. A reader counting rows in this registry is counting certifications and not buildings, and this row is the clearest demonstration of the difference.[1]
  • Red Oak is a town of a few thousand people south of Dallas and it holds two separate hyperscale campuses in this registry. This one is Compass with Microsoft. The other is DataBank with Oracle, four buildings certified one by one. Nothing in the record connects them and nothing suggests they are one place.[1]

Still not public

  • The delivered capacity of this certification is not public.
  • Square footage is not public.
  • Whether Microsoft takes the whole campus or these buildings only is not stated.
  • The split between this certification and the second Red Oak one is not stated.

Source trail

  1. Certified Data CentersTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsfilingRead August 21st, 2026.
  2. Compass Datacenters Adds Second Dallas Area CampusCompass DatacenterscompanyRead August 21st, 2026.
  3. Dallas firm plans $300 million expansion to Red Oak data center campusThe Dallas Morning Newstrade pressRead August 21st, 2026.

What was filed to build it

Texas registers every large construction project with a second agency. These filings were made by a company this record already names.

$768,925,000 across 14 filings, 4,417,192 sq ft.

2016$15,000,000DALLAS 2Allen
2017$15,000,000DFW II AAllen
2019$45,000,00040,150 sq ftDFW III-I-1 Thunderball 6000Red Oak
2019$5,000,000980,849 sq ftCompass Datacenters DFW III-I, LLCRed Oak
2020$1,000,0001,503,933 sq ftCompass Datacenters DFW I-II, LLCAllen
2021$100,000,000250,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 1 (Roadrunner)Red Oak
2021$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 2 (Roadrunner)Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 3Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 4Red Oak
2022$100,000,000251,815 sq ftDFW III-II Building 5Red Oak
2024$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 3 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak
2024$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 4 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak
2025$16,925,00050,000 sq ftCompass Operations FacilityRed Oak
2025$57,000,000195,000 sq ftDFW III-II Building 2 Tenant Fit OutRed Oak

An estimated cost at filing is not a final cost, and a filing is not proof a building went up. How this register works.

The registry entry for this facility comes from the Texas Comptroller's certified list of data centers holding a sales tax exemption. Owner, occupant and operator are roles in that filing rather than descriptions of who runs the building.